Palm Jumeirah AED 3,524/sqftDubai Maritime City AED 3,152/sqftDowntown Dubai AED 2,905/sqftDubai Islands AED 2,770/sqftDubai Creek Harbour AED 2,563/sqftBusiness Bay AED 2,509/sqftDubai Marina AED 2,481/sqftDubai Hills Estate AED 2,448/sqftJumeirah Lakes Towers AED 2,306/sqftMohammed Bin Rashid City AED 2,097/sqftAl Jaddaf AED 2,049/sqftJumeirah Village Triangle AED 1,665/sqftDubai South AED 1,652/sqftArjan AED 1,584/sqftJumeirah Village Circle AED 1,491/sqftDubai Sports City AED 1,328/sqftALL DLD SALES · OFF-PLAN + EXISTINGPalm Jumeirah AED 3,524/sqftDubai Maritime City AED 3,152/sqftDowntown Dubai AED 2,905/sqftDubai Islands AED 2,770/sqftDubai Creek Harbour AED 2,563/sqftBusiness Bay AED 2,509/sqftDubai Marina AED 2,481/sqftDubai Hills Estate AED 2,448/sqftJumeirah Lakes Towers AED 2,306/sqftMohammed Bin Rashid City AED 2,097/sqftAl Jaddaf AED 2,049/sqftJumeirah Village Triangle AED 1,665/sqftDubai South AED 1,652/sqftArjan AED 1,584/sqftJumeirah Village Circle AED 1,491/sqftDubai Sports City AED 1,328/sqftALL DLD SALES · OFF-PLAN + EXISTING
DLD · MEDIAN 12M TO OCT 2026

fit-out & approvals

Fit-Out Approvals in DDA/TECOM, DIFC and DMCC (JLT): Free-Zone Rules Compared

Compare free-zone fit-out approvals in Dubai: DDA's published permit fees, documents and turnarounds, DIFC's NOC categories and the DMCC-Concordia route in JLT.

Mitchell's Commercial Real Estate19 min read2,187 views
On this page — 10 sections

Section 01

Which authority actually approves a free-zone fit-out in Dubai?

The free-zone authority for your address issues the permit, and the mainland regulators still issue the safety and utility approvals underneath it. In the TECOM clusters that is the Dubai Development Authority; in DIFC it is DIFC's own Property Development Department; in JLT it is DMCC, working through Concordia and DMCC's fit-out team. None of these is Dubai Municipality, whose parallel mainland route is covered in the Dubai Municipality fit-out permit process guide, and none is Trakhees, which governs the Dubai World-owned zones described in the Trakhees fit-out approval guide.

What does not change is the technical standard. Decree No. 45 of 2021, Article 3, states that the Dubai Building Code applies to building designs for which permits are issued after the decree's effective date "throughout the Emirate, including in Special Development Zones and free zones, such as the Dubai International Financial Centre". Article 4 requires all public and private entities and individuals to comply with it, and the decree defines a Competent Entity as any government entity responsible for licensing construction works in any area of the Emirate. In other words, the free zone changes your counterparty, not your design code.

Section 01 10NextHow does a DDA/TECOM fit-out permit work, and what does it cost?

Section 02

How does a DDA/TECOM fit-out permit work, and what does it cost?

DDA issues the fit-out permit itself, through its Zoning e-Services portal, and the contractor is the applicant. DDA's own service page describes the Fit-Out Permit as enabling the contractor to obtain a permit to start fit-out works for any part of the building, office or retail unit, and then submit for completion to confirm compliance with the permit requirements. DDA lists its Buildings eServices portal at webzoning.dda.gov.ae/Zoning, available around the clock, with a walk-in alternative at its customer service centre in Dubai Studio City.

The DDA clusters covered include Dubai Internet City, Dubai Media City, Dubai Knowledge Park, Dubai Science Park, Dubai Design District (d3), Dubai Studio City and Dubai Production City.

DDA service What it covers Published fee Stated processing time Validity
Fit-Out Permit Permit to start fit-out works to any part of a building, office or retail unit AED 0.90 per sq ft, minimum AED 200, maximum AED 10,000 2 working days 6 months
Renewal of Fit-Out Permit Extending an issued fit-out permit AED 200 per 3 months, up to 1 year from issuance Immediate Up to 1 year from issuance
Building Modification – Permit Modifications to a completed building after its completion certificate AED 1.00 per sq ft of total additional or relevant built-up area 2 working days Renewable at AED 200 per 3 months
Fit-Out Completion Certificate Sign-off that works comply with the approved drawings No fee published 2 working days —
Night Shift Work Permit Approval to work at night for specific hours and a specific period No fee published 2 working days Not published
Consultant/Contractor Registration Registering your contractor with DDA Planning & Development AED 250 new, AED 250 per renewal 2 working days 1 year

On three of the services above — the Fit-Out Permit, its renewal and the Building Modification Permit — DDA adds AED 10 as a Knowledge Dirham and AED 10 as an Innovation Dirham per transaction. That note does not appear on the Fit-Out Completion Certificate, Night Shift Work Permit or Consultant/Contractor Registration pages, so treat the surcharge as confirmed on the priced permits rather than as a blanket charge on every DDA transaction, and ask DDA to confirm it on the services it does not price. Two of DDA's own conditions are worth pricing into your programme. First, a Dubai Civil Defence Completion Certificate is required before DDA will issue the Fit-Out Completion Certificate — so the DCD route runs in parallel with, not after, your DDA file. Second, DDA states that if it reviews your submission and concludes the work should have been a Building Modification rather than a fit-out, the fit-out fee is not refunded. DDA's own condition on coring is narrower than it is often quoted: for coring less than 200mm, there should be no impact on any structural elements such as tendons, and it should be at least 1m away from the column. Anything touching structure is a different, more expensive permit, and misclassifying it costs you both the fee and the calendar.

Section 02 10NextWhat does DDA require before it will issue the permit?

Section 03

What does DDA require before it will issue the permit?

Six documents, and the contractor must already be registered with DDA. DDA lists: the fit-out permit request form (only where you apply in person at a customer service centre), a contractor appointment letter signed by the tenant, a copy of the Ejari, an NOC from the building owner, NOCs from the relevant authorities, and approved stamped drawings alongside the proposed drawings.

The registration point is the one most often missed at tender stage. DDA's Consultant/Contractor Registration service is open, in DDA's own words, to consultants and contractors holding a valid trade licence from the Dubai Department of Economic Development (DED, now the Department of Economy and Tourism) or from DDA itself. It costs AED 250, is valid for one year, and takes a stated two working days. A contractor who has never worked in a DDA cluster cannot file for you until that registration exists. Ask for the registration certificate before you award, not after. The same discipline applies across every Dubai regime — see the fit-out approval timelines and responsibilities guide for how these dependencies stack up on a programme.

Section 03 10NextDo DDA's requirements change between Media City, d3 and Internet City?

Section 04

Do DDA's requirements change between Media City, d3 and Internet City?

Not at the DDA layer. DDA publishes a single permits-and-NOCs catalogue — mobilisation, excavation, shoring, piling, sub-structure, final building permit, fit-out and its renewal, building modification, maintenance, temporary construction, demolition, works within the right of way, dewatering NOC, site catering, night shift work and suspension of work — with no cluster-specific variants. Its Codes and Guidelines page publishes authority-wide documents only — the Master Planning Guidelines, the Dubai Building Code and an introduction to the Dubai Building Code. There is no published Media City fit-out code sitting alongside a separate d3 one.

Where cluster variation genuinely lives is the NOC from the building owner that DDA requires as an input, plus each cluster's facilities management protocols for access, working hours and services isolation. Those are private documents issued by the building, not the authority, and they are where most programme risk actually sits. The master-developer and landlord fit-out standards guide sets out what to ask for, and the access, loading bay and delivery rules guide covers the logistics constraints that vary building by building.

Section 04 10NextHow does DIFC's fit-out NOC process work?

Section 05

How does DIFC's fit-out NOC process work?

Read everything in this section with care. None of it is confirmed against DIFC's own current pages as at this update, so what follows is DIFC's own wording as previously published rather than a position confirmed in August 2026. Anything not corroborated has been removed rather than repeated behind a caveat. Read this section as DIFC's stated position and as a sense-check on what you are told, not as a current published schedule, and put anything that affects your programme to the Property Development Department in writing.

DIFC is a separate legal and planning jurisdiction whose Property Development Department issues NOCs before applicants approach DDA or begin work. On that same material, applicants can be building management, unit owners, tenants, or appointed consultants and contractors, and the NOC categories include building fit-out works, change of use, external works, advertisement, and wayfinding and signage. Neither the applicant list nor the list of categories is confirmed for this update, and the total number of categories is not stated here, so confirm both with the Property Development Department before you assume your works fall inside a particular category.

What can be stated with confidence is narrow but useful. DIFC's third-party buildings page publishes a service standard for that one route: allow at least one working day for DIFC to do the initial review and respond, any request arriving after 3pm Gulf Standard Time is addressed the following day, and the maximum processing time is five working days. On approval the e-NOC goes to the applicant's registered email address. That standard is scoped to the third-party buildings NOC. DIFC's separate submittals and external works NOC page publishes no processing time at all, so do not assume the five-working-day ceiling covers every DIFC route — and note that this is a review clock, not a design-and-build clock.

Two document requirements were also confirmed, and both are worth acting on before you appoint anyone. The contractor must supply proof of registration with DDA — an email from DDA confirming that registration — together with the contractor's own trade licence. An A3-size architectural drawing showing the existing and the proposed layouts is required as well. A fuller checklist recorded from DIFC's pages in July 2026 also included a DIFC commercial licence, a DIFC title deed, drawings stamped by the building's FM or management, and current-dated NOC request letters from tenant, owner and building management. That longer list reflects DIFC's pages as they stood in July 2026 and has not been confirmed since, so treat it as an indication of shape rather than a definitive set, and ask DIFC's Property Development Department for the current version in writing.

On fees, this guide publishes no DIFC figure at all. An earlier version of this page carried a fee range recorded from DIFC's site in July 2026. It could not be re-confirmed from any published source, and a stale fee behind a hedge is still a fee someone will budget from — so it has been removed. Get a written fee quotation from the Property Development Department before you commit to a programme or concede a rent-free period.

One structural point carries regardless. DIFC's fit-out route can also involve an RTA NOC where works involve trial pits, road usage or temporary installations, a body corporate NOC from affected third-party buildings, and, wherever applicable, permits from Dubai Municipality, Dubai Civil Defence, Dubai Police and other authorities named on DIFC's own list. Budget coordination time for those, not just for the DIFC NOC itself.

Section 05 10NextHow does the DMCC and Concordia process work in JLT?

Section 06

How does the DMCC and Concordia process work in JLT?

DMCC issues an NOC to Concordia first; the fit-out permit and technical review follow. DMCC's Application Guideline 2.1.2 sets out the first step precisely: a DMCC company or a property owner requests the NOC on the DMCC Member Portal under Company Services, Official Communications, NOCs and Letters from DMCC. The required documents are an undertaking letter signed by the property owner or authorised signatory on DMCC's template, a valid property lease agreement covering the licence validity period stating the size of the office (or evidence of ownership by title deed or current-dated certificate of ownership, with the original required for verification), and a current-dated certificate of ownership from the tower developer or building management company, or a title deed from the Land Department. If the owner is a company, add its trade licence, passport copies and proof of the requestor's authority. DMCC reserves the right to request further documents at any stage, and a company cannot move to a smaller space if its visa count exceeds the quota for that space.

DMCC's schedule of charges lists "NOC to Concordia Fit-Out Licenced company" at AED 265, non-refundable if the service is cancelled after submission, and a parallel "NOC for Unit Owners' Fit-Out Concordia" line, also at AED 265. The unit fit-out itself is not priced at all: the schedule says "Please contact Concordia" and notes that it varies depending on the type of fit-out. That is the single biggest hole in any JLT fit-out budget built from published figures, and it sits with Concordia rather than DMCC.

On VAT, the schedule is less complete than it first looks, so treat the AED 265 as a net-of-tax planning figure until your quotation says otherwise. Its general conditions state only that all charges are expressed in UAE Dirhams and that all charges are subject to AED 20 Knowledge and Innovation Dirham fees. VAT is addressed in some sections of the schedule and not others — the mediation services section, for instance, states that its charges are exclusive of VAT and Knowledge and Innovation Dirhams — but no VAT note attaches to the Concordia NOC lines, and the schedule carries no blanket statement covering every charge. So DMCC does not publish whether the AED 265 is VAT-inclusive. Ask for the VAT-inclusive figure on the quotation rather than inferring it from another section of the same document.

For what happens next, DMCC's most detailed published document is the JLT Retail Tenant Handbook R4 (2026), issued under the DMCC Master Community Declaration and Master Community Regulations and available from JLT's community governance page. Two limits on it matter before you rely on anything in the table below.

First, it is retail-specific: section 1.2 scopes it to all retail, food and beverage, and service tenants. It refers technical matters to a separate Tenant Fit-Out Manual, and that manual is not published on jlt.ae or anywhere else in public. The same community governance page does carry one further design document, Retail Design Guidelines R4, but its title scopes it to retail as well, and its contents are not confirmed for this update, so nothing in this guide rests on it — request it from DMCC alongside the handbook if you are fitting out a shop. What no published document covers is the office unit, whose design-submission requirements therefore have no published source at all. Second, the review durations circulating for JLT office fit-outs come from contractor and approval-agency marketing pages rather than from DMCC or Concordia, and they do not agree with each other, so none is repeated here. If you are fitting out an office rather than a shop, ask DMCC and Concordia in writing for the Tenant Fit-Out Manual and for their design-review turnaround, and treat the retail handbook below as an indication of how the process is shaped rather than as your rulebook. On its own retail terms it sets out eight stages:

Stage What happens Responsibility
1. Lease execution and drawings release Tenant signs the lease and receives shell drawings, MEP information and design guidelines Management, fit-out team, leasing
2. Design development and approval Tenant submits the design package for review by the fit-out team Tenant, designer, contractor
3. NOC and permitting On design approval, management issues the NOC for authority submission to DM, DCD, DEWA and others Tenant
4. Site handover and contractor induction Premises handed over on signing the handover form; contractor induction and safety briefing are mandatory Contractor, fit-out team
5. Fit-out works execution Works proceed within the permitted schedule under supervision and inspection Tenant, contractor
6. Inspections and testing Joint inspections for MEP, fire and finish quality; snag list prepared Tenant, contractor, fit-out team
7. Authority approvals and completion Tenant secures completion certificates from DM, DEWA, DCD, the telecoms provider and Empower Tenant
8. Final acceptance and opening "No Objection to Open" letter issued after snags, documentation and deposits are cleared Fit-out team

The design package at stage 2 must contain scaled floor plans and reflected ceiling plans at 1:50, detailed elevations and shopfront drawings, a materials and finishes schedule, MEP load calculations and connection points, fire and life-safety drawings, signage and lighting proposals, and a photorealistic rendering of the storefront. For those retail submissions, management reserves ten working days to respond with comments or approval, and only where the documents are complete — the handbook states that incomplete submissions will not be reviewed. That ten-day figure is a retail commitment in a retail document; there is no published equivalent for an office unit, so do not programme an office fit-out against it. A fit-out security deposit is payable before works commence, refunded only after completion to the fit-out team's satisfaction, submission of as-built drawings, test certificates and authority approvals, and restoration of any common areas used. Working hours are 07:00 to 19:00 Monday to Friday unless otherwise approved, temporary power and water need five working days' notice, and as-built drawings, MEP commissioning reports and updated load schedules are due within thirty days of opening.

Section 06 10NextA worked example: a 2,000 sq ft office fit-out in each zone

Section 07

A worked example: a 2,000 sq ft office fit-out in each zone

Take the same 2,000 sq ft office, non-structural, with a new tea point and a reconfigured meeting room.

In a DDA cluster, the DDA permit fee computes at 2,000 × AED 0.90 = AED 1,800, plus AED 20 in Knowledge and Innovation Dirhams. Add AED 250 if your contractor is not yet registered with DDA. The permit issues in a stated two working days once the file is complete and runs for six months. The critical-path items are not DDA's two days — they are the building owner's NOC and the Civil Defence file, which must land before DDA will close out the Fit-Out Completion Certificate.

In JLT, the DMCC NOC to Concordia is AED 265, non-refundable once submitted, and is a gating document rather than a permit. Beyond it, an office job of this size cannot be costed or programmed from published material either: Concordia's own fit-out charge is quoted case by case, the security deposit is set case by case by the fit-out team, and the ten-working-day design review published in the retail handbook is a retail commitment that should not be assumed to apply to an office unit. Ask Concordia for the charge and the review turnaround in writing at the same time you request the NOC.

In DIFC, the same 2,000 sq ft job cannot be costed from published material at all, so a written quotation from the Property Development Department is a precondition of a credible budget rather than a refinement of one. Note the asymmetry across the three: DDA's number is knowable to the dirham before you sign, DMCC's gating NOC is knowable but the Concordia fit-out charge behind it is not, and DIFC's is not knowable at all without asking.

Section 07 10NextWhat should you check before you sign?

Still reading

Need expert help on this subject?

Speak to us

Section 08

What should you check before you sign?

Six things, all of which are cheaper to establish before signature than after. Confirm in writing which authority permits works at that specific address, and get it from the authority rather than the agent. Ask the landlord for the building's fit-out manual, its FM NOC process and its stated turnaround, since that is the layer the authority will require as an input. Confirm your preferred contractor already holds current registration with the relevant authority, and see the certificate. Establish whether anything in your brief touches structure, since in DDA terms that reclassifies the application and forfeits the fit-out fee. Agree who carries the cost of authority delay in the lease — landlord, tenant or shared — because on a three- to six-month fit-out, rent-free period and permit calendar rarely align by accident.

And sixth, get a written figure for every charge left unpublished here. Three specific asks close most of the gap: DIFC's current NOC fee table from its Property Development Department, Concordia's fit-out charge for your unit type, and confirmation of whether DMCC's AED 265 NOC charge is VAT-inclusive. None of the three is published in a form that can be verified, and all three are answerable by email in a few days — which is far cheaper than discovering them after you have committed to an opening date.

Two commercial points sit alongside the regulatory ones. Free-zone demand has been strong enough to tighten the availability of good stock, which is the backdrop to what Dubai's office space shortage means for investor returns and to the occupancy picture in the H1 2025 Cavendish Maxwell Dubai office market report summary; DMCC in particular has kept adding occupiers, as the DMCC free zone registration figures for H1 2025 show. That matters because it weakens the tenant's hand on rent-free periods. Benchmark the rent you are being quoted against the Dubai commercial index before you concede on fit-out timing, and check whether the structural choice of zone still suits your activity using the mainland versus free zone licensing guide.

Section 08 10NextDo these free zones exempt you from mainland regulators?

Section 09

Do these free zones exempt you from mainland regulators?

No, and both DDA and DMCC say so in their own documents. DDA will not issue a Fit-Out Completion Certificate without a Dubai Civil Defence Completion Certificate. DMCC's JLT handbook lists a Dubai Municipality building permit, a Dubai Civil Defence fit-out NOC and completion certificate, DEWA electrical and water connections, and Dubai Land Department requirements among the statutory approvals the tenant must obtain, and requires copies of every permit to be lodged with the fit-out team before works start and again on completion. DIFC's own list has likewise referred to Dubai Municipality, Dubai Civil Defence and Dubai Police permits wherever applicable, alongside further authorities named only by abbreviation that are not identified in full as at this update. How those approvals interlock is set out in the DEWA and Civil Defence NOCs guide, and the closing sequence — completion certificates, snagging and the permission to trade — in the snagging, handover and completion certificates guide.

Section 09 10NextHow Mitchell's can help

Section 10

How Mitchell's can help

We work with tenants and investors across DIFC, DMCC/JLT and the DDA clusters, and we map the permit chain for a specific unit before heads of terms are signed rather than after. That usually means establishing which authority permits the address, obtaining the building's fit-out manual and FM NOC process in writing, and pressure-testing the rent-free period against a realistic approval calendar. If you are weighing two units in different zones, we can set the approval cost and timing side by side so the comparison is honest. Send us the addresses and we will do that groundwork before you commit.

This guide is provided for general information only and is not professional, legal, or regulatory advice. Fees, documents, and timelines change — always confirm current requirements directly with DDA, DIFC, or DMCC/Concordia before starting design work.

Section 10 10FinallyKey Takeaways

In closing

Key Takeaways

  • DDA is the permitting authority in the TECOM clusters, and it publishes real numbers. Its Fit-Out Permit costs AED 0.90 per square foot, with a floor of AED 200 and a ceiling of AED 10,000, carries a stated two-working-day turnaround, and is valid for six months.
  • DDA runs one fit-out process, not one per cluster. Its permits catalogue and its codes page are published authority-wide; what varies between Media City, d3 and Internet City is the building-owner NOC that DDA requires as an input.
  • A DMCC trade licence does not authorise physical alteration of a unit. DMCC must first issue a No Objection Certificate to Concordia — listed on DMCC's schedule of charges at AED 265 and non-refundable once submitted — before the fit-out permit stage begins.
  • JLT retail design review is a ten-working-day clock that only starts when your package is complete. DMCC's published JLT retail handbook states plainly that incomplete submissions will not be reviewed. There is no published equivalent for a JLT office unit.
  • The Dubai Building Code binds all three zones. Article 3 of Decree No. 45 of 2021 applies it throughout the Emirate, including in Special Development Zones and free zones, and names DIFC explicitly.
  • No free zone removes the mainland safety layer. DDA will not issue a Fit-Out Completion Certificate without a Dubai Civil Defence Completion Certificate, and DMCC's JLT handbook lists DM, DCD and DEWA approvals as the tenant's own responsibility.
  • Three things are not published, and no figure is guessed at here. DIFC's fee schedule is not confirmed, so no DIFC figure appears here; DMCC does not state whether its AED 265 NOC charge includes VAT; and Concordia's own fit-out charge is quoted case by case. Each is a question to put in writing before you commit.

Dubai Internet City, DIFC and DMCC's Jumeirah Lakes Towers all sit outside Dubai Municipality's and Trakhees' direct permitting jurisdiction, but each runs its own layered fit-out approval process. This guide compares how the three actually work, using each authority's own published material. For the wider map of who approves what across the Emirate, start with the Dubai fit-out and building permits pillar guide.

Frequently asked questions

09
01Which authority issues the fit-out permit in a DDA free zone such as Dubai Internet City or d3?

The Dubai Development Authority issues it directly, through its Zoning e-Services portal. DDA publishes one Fit-Out Permit service covering its communities rather than a separate process per cluster. The applicant is the contractor, DDA's stated processing time is two working days, and the approved permit is valid for six months. Dubai Municipality does not issue the building permit inside DDA areas.

02How much does a DDA fit-out permit cost?

DDA publishes the fee as AED 0.90 per square foot, with a minimum of AED 200 and a maximum of AED 10,000, plus AED 10 Knowledge Dirham and AED 10 Innovation Dirham on that transaction. Renewal is AED 200 for each three-month extension, up to one year from the date the permit was issued. Registering your contractor with DDA is a separate AED 250, valid one year.

03What documents does DDA ask for with a fit-out permit application?

Six items: the fit-out permit request form (only if you apply at a customer service centre), a contractor appointment letter from the tenant, a copy of the Ejari, an NOC from the building owner, NOCs from the relevant authorities, and approved stamped drawings together with the proposed drawings. DDA also warns that if it reviews the submission and finds the work should have been a Building Modification, the fit-out fee is not refunded.

04Does a DMCC trade licence let me start fitting out my JLT office immediately?

No. A DMCC licence authorises you to trade, not to alter a unit. DMCC must first issue a No Objection Certificate to Concordia, requested through the DMCC Member Portal under Company Services, Official Communications, NOCs and Letters from DMCC. DMCC's schedule of charges lists 'NOC to Concordia Fit-Out Licenced company' at AED 265, non-refundable once submitted. Only then does the fit-out permit stage begin.

05What does the JLT fit-out team actually review before work can start?

For retail units, DMCC's published JLT handbook requires a design package containing scaled floor plans and reflected ceiling plans at 1:50, detailed elevations and shopfront drawings, a materials and finishes schedule, MEP load calculations and connection points, fire and life-safety drawings, signage and lighting proposals, and a photorealistic rendering of the storefront. Contractors must separately submit trade licences, insurance certificates and staff lists before site access.

06How long does JLT design approval take?

For retail units, DMCC's published JLT retail handbook states that management reserves ten working days to respond with comments or approval, and only where the submission is complete — it says plainly that incomplete submissions will not be reviewed. Budget for at least one comment-and-resubmission cycle. For office units there is no published figure at all: the separate Tenant Fit-Out Manual the handbook refers to is not published, and the office review times in circulation come from contractor marketing pages, so none is repeated here. Ask Concordia for its turnaround in writing. Temporary power and water connections need a separate application at least five working days before the date required.

07Does the Dubai Building Code apply inside DIFC and the other free zones?

Yes. Article 3 of Decree No. 45 of 2021 states that the Dubai Building Code applies to building designs permitted after the decree's effective date throughout the Emirate, including in Special Development Zones and free zones, such as the Dubai International Financial Centre. Article 4 requires all public and private entities and individuals to comply. The permitting authority changes between zones; the technical code does not.

08Do these free zones exempt me from Dubai Municipality and Dubai Civil Defence?

No. DDA will not issue a Fit-Out Completion Certificate without a Dubai Civil Defence Completion Certificate, and DMCC's JLT handbook lists a DM building permit, a DCD fit-out NOC and completion certificate, and DEWA connections among the statutory approvals the tenant must obtain. Free-zone status changes which planning authority permits your works, not the underlying fire, health and utility layer.

09How much does a DIFC fit-out NOC cost?

No figure is stated here, because none is verifiable. DIFC's fee schedule at difc.com or difc.ae is not confirmed by DIFC's own published material as at 17 August 2026. A fee range recorded from DIFC's site in July 2026 is not confirmed by any current published source, and has been removed rather than repeated behind a caveat. Request the current fee table from DIFC's Property Development Department in writing before you budget.

Next step

Talk to Mitchells

Tell us what you are weighing up — a building, a project, an area, or a rule you need to get right — and we will come back with the specifics that apply to it.

Speak to usMore investor guides

Updated 17 August 2026 by Mitchell's Commercial Real Estate. Market figures quoted reflect the data available at that date.

In this cluster

fit-out & approvals

The cluster page that introduces this topic, and the other 7 guides filed under it.

Continue reading

The closest guides to this one — matched on subject, across all five topic areas.

Showing 4 of 146 investor guides across five topic areas.

Browse all guides
Need help?